Abb Takk News

PM Khan Reconstitutes ECNEC

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan has reconstituted the Executive Committee of the National Economic Council (Ecnec) and appointed Minister for Finance Shaukat Tarin as its chairman.

The Cabinet Division has issued a notification about the reconstitution of Ecnec.

Chaired by Tarin –the fourth economic czar to be appointed by Prime Minister Imran Khan during his three-year rule – the top economic decision making body also comprises Minister for Planning Asad Umar, Minister for Industries Khusro Bakhtiar and Minister for Energy Hammad Azhar.

The provincial representatives include Hashim Jawan Bakht from Punjab; Nisar Ahmed Khuhro from Sindh; Taimur Saleem Jhagra from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Tariq Khan Magsi from Balochistan.

The main function of Ecnec is to sanction public sector development schemes exceeding financial competency of the Central Development Working Party (CDWP).