Abb Takk News

PML-N Conveys Concerns Regarding By-poll To ECP

Islamabad (October 12, 2018): The PML-N delegation met Secretary Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday and apprised him over their concerns regarding by-election, which will be held on October 14.

The PML-N delegation was comprised of Marryium Aurangzeb, Senator Chaudhry Tanveer and Sardar Yaqoob Nasir.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Talking to media after the meeting, Marryium Aurangzeb said that they have informed the ECP regarding their reservations over general election 2018 and asked him the counting of the voting should be made in the presence of party polling agents, the practice which was not done during the general election.

She also told the ECP that the arrest of party chief Shehbaz Sharif will affect the election and party has strong reservation over his arrest.Senator Tanveer alleged, on the occasion, that Railways minister was running election campaign of his nephew and people were distributing forms in pretend of employment.

He demanded election commission should take notice of the Railway minister’s pre-poll rigging.

Eleven National Assembly and 26 provincial assembly seats fell vacant due to different reasons, including resignations by those elected on more than one seat and death of some contesting candidates.

Four of the 11 National Assembly seats have been vacated by Prime Minister-elect Imran Khan – who won all five seats he contested. The seats vacated by him are: NA-35 (Bannu), NA-53 (Islamabad), NA-131 (Lahore) and NA-243 (Karachi). Two National Assembly seats NA-65 (Chakwal) and NA-69 (Gujrat) have been vacated by Chaudhry Pervez Elahi of PML-Q, who has now been elected the Speaker of Punjab Assembly.The seat of NA-56 (Attock) was vacated by retired Maj Tahir Sadiq of PTI who also won from adjacent NA-55 seat. Likewise Ghulam Sarwar Khan vacated NA-63 seat. He also won from NA-59 (Rawalpindi). Another seat, NA-124 (Lahore)was vacated by PML-N leader Hamza Shahbaz Sharif, who chose to retain the provincial assembly seat he also won in the election.

There are 13 provincial assembly seats in Punjab on which by-elections will be held. They include PP-3 Attock, PP-27 Jhelum, PP-87 Mianwali, PP-103 Faisalabad, PP-118 Toba Tek Singh, PP-164 and PP-165, Lahore, PP-201 Sahiwal, PP-222 Multan, PP-261 Rahim Yar Khan, PP-272 Muzaffargarh, PP-292 Dera Ghazi Khan and PP-296 Rajanpur. Nine provincial assembly seats of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on which by-elections will be held include PK-3 and PK-7 Swat, PK-44 Swabi, PK-53 Mardan, PK-61 and 64 Nowshera, PK-78 Peshawar and PK-97 and PK-99 Dera Ismail Khan.Two provincial assembly constituencies each from Sindh and Balochistan, where by-polls will be held include PS-87 Malir and PS-87 Khairpur; and PB-35 Mastung and PB-40 Khuzdar respectively.

The national and provincial assembly seats fell vacant due to the death of candidates or resignation of elected lawmakers from seats as they had won more than one seat in General Elections 2018 held on July 25.

Related News: 

By-polls Campaign To End At Midnight Tonight

By Polls: PPP, PML-N To Field Joint Candidates