Abb Takk News

PML-N retains PK-08 Peshawar after tough fight in by-election

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Arbab Waseem Hayat has won the by-election on PK-08 after tough competition among PPP and PTI candidates  as per unofficial results while PPP and PTI got second and third position respectively.

According to the unofficial results the PML-N secured 11,781 votes declared victorious on the seat while the PPP candidate Malik Tehmash Khan came on second position after getting  10,779 votes and provincial ruling party stood at third after begging 9,347 votes.

The PTI tried it hard to win the seat as Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q), Jamaat-e-Islami and Quami Watan Party (QWP) candidates had withdrawn in favor of the PTI candidate.

The tough fight expected on the seat and results of the election also proved it as it was very close for at least three parties.

As many as 15 candidates were contested on the seat while the PML-N candidate successfully retained his family seats as the seat was vacated after his uncle Arbab Akbar Hayat demise.

The voting started on the seat at  08.00 am continued till 5.00 pm without any break. The provincial election commission had declared 39 polling stations sensitive while more others 48 declared most sensitive.

As many as  1,36,500 voters were registered in the provincial constituency while special powers of magistrate of status one had been given  to all presiding officers for three days to deal with any untoward incident during the poll.