Abb Takk News

PML-N Seeks Prorogue of Joint Parliament Session

Islamabad (September 12, 2018): The former speaker National Assembly (NA) Ayaz Sadiq contacted the government and sought the delay in joint parliament session, which was called for tomorrow, Thursday.

According to sources, former speaker NA contacted the government and requested the postponement of joint parliament session after the death of Begum Kalsoom Nawaz, the former first lady.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

“PML-N government has announced a three-day mourn on Begum Kalsoom death that’s why it is not possible for PML-N parliamentarians to attend the session,” he apprised the government.

He suggested the government to hold joint parliament session after the final rituals of the Begum Kalsoom Nawaz so that PML-N members parliament could attend the session.

It is pertinent to mention that the parliament joint session has been summoned on September 13 which will be addressed by the newly elected president Arif Alvi.President To Address Joint Session TomorrowEarlier, parliamentary leaders of the political parties proposed to call the joint session of the parliament for the address of the president on September 13,” said a press release.

The meeting was chaired by the Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser and also attended by the Minister for Defence Pervaiz Khattak, Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Finance Minister Asad Umer, Deputy Speaker Muhammad Qasim Khan Suri, Malik Amir Dogar, Ayaz Sadiq, Rana Tanveer, Syed Mustafa Shah, Syed Naveed Qamar, Maulana Asad Mehmood and Parliamentary Secretary of Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.It was also decided to call the regular session of the National Assembly on September 14 (Friday).

The meeting also discussed the formation of National Assembly Standing Committees. The Speaker said formation of standing committees is his earlier priority.

As per the laws the members of the National Assembly standing committees is required to be elected till September 17, by the House.

Related News:   

Punjab Govt Extends Nawaz, Maryam’s Parole For Three Days

12 New Ministers Inducted In Punjab Cabinet