Abb Takk News

Polling Begins For Senate Vacant Senate From Punjab

Lahore (October 03, 2018): Polling on Senate vacant seat from Punjab begins. The polling will continue till 4:00 pm without any break.

At least 358 members of Punjab Assembly will exercise their right to vote.

A close contest is expected between Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Shahzad Waseem and Khawaja Ahmed Hassan of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).The seat was vacated by PTI s Chaudhry Muhammad Sarwar on assuming charge of Governor Punjab.

Earlier on October 01, Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) decided to vote Pakistan Muslim Leauge-Nawaz (PML-N) for the vacant seat of Senate From Punjab.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

The parliamentary leader of PPP in Punjab, Syed Hasan Murtaza said that the party leadership decided to vote for PML-N after contact from PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif. He said that PTI has become a fascist party, PPP will not vote them.

Earlier on September 08, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) called upon the members of the provincial assembly of Punjab to elect a member for the Senate from that province against a general seat.

According to ECP, the seat fallen vacant, due to resignation tendered by Ch. Mohammad Sarwar and fixed the schedule of election process under which the polling will be held on October 3 at Provincial Assembly building, Lahore.

The public notice by Returning Officer inviting nomination papers was issued on September 11 while the last date for filing of nomination papers by the candidates with the Returning Officer was September 13.The date for publication of names of the nominated candidates was set September 14 while the last date for scrutiny of nomination papers was September 16.

The last date for filing of appeals against acceptance or rejection of nominations was fixed September 18 while the last date for disposal of appeals by the tribunal was September 20.

The last date publication of revised list of candidates was September 24 while the last date for withdrawal of candidature was September 25.

Related News:

Election on Vacant Senate Seat To Be Held Today