Polling For Deputy Speaker NA Underway

Polling For Deputy Speaker NA Underway

Islamabad (August 15, 2018): Polling for the election of the new Deputy Speaker National Assembly at the parliament house in Islamabad underway.

Qasim Khan Suri of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf and Asad Mehmood, the joint candidate of the opposition are contesting for the seat.

Newly elected Speaker Asad Qaiser is chairing the session of the house.

PTI enjoys support of its allies including Balochistan Awami Party (BAP), Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P), Balochistan National Party (M), Grand Democratic Alliance, Awami Muslim League (AML), Pakistan Muslim League Quaid (PML-Q) and Jamhoori Watan Party.After allotment of reserved seats for women and minorities by Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), PTI’s tally in NA stands at 151. Adding seats of MQM-P, GDA, AML, BAP and BNP-M, the tally soars to 175. Two independent candidates have also assured PTI of their support.

On the other hand, opposition’s candidates enjoy support of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N), Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) and Awami National Party (ANP). Combining seats of grand alliance, opposition can manage to secure votes somewhat around 150.

Earlier, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) Asad Qaiser on Wednesday sworn in as the 21st Speaker for the National Assembly amid opposition ruckus.Qaiser bagged 176 votes while Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Syed Khurshid Shah received 146 in the secret balloting process. A total of 330 votes were cast among which eight were rejected.

Outgoing speaker Ayaz Sadiq administered oath to new speaker, who will supervise the election of the deputy speaker for the Lower House of Parliament.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Opposition parties lodged a strong protest as the new speaker was sworn in. They raised slogans of “Vote ko Izzat Do” and “Jali Mandate Na Manzoor”.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

As Asad Qaiser’s efforts to maintain order in the House went vain, he adjourned the session for 15 minutes.

The polling initiated after a delay of more than an hour due to late arrival of MNAs. As the proceedings begun, oath was administered to five MNAs-elect who failed to attend the inaugural session.

Lawmakers belonging to various political parties, including prime minister-in-waiting Imran Khan and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, are present in the Lower House of Parliament for the election.

PTI chairman forgot to bring his NA registration card with him and was objected by the polling agent of PPP. However; Ayaz Sadiq intervened and permitted Khan to cast his vote.Amongst the prominent figures who cast vote included Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, PPP Co-Chairman Asif Ali Zardari, Asad Qaiser of PTI, Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) president Shehbaz Sharif Khurshid Shah, Khawaja Muhammad Asif and Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.

Later addressing house, speaker Asad Qaiser thanked the members for reposing confidence in him and pledged to live up to their expectations. He said he will move forward with the consultation of all the elected members.

Asad Qaiser said that the speakership is a big responsibility and he will do his best to perform his responsibilities in an effective manner. He said the elected representatives will be fully facilitated by the staff of the national assembly for legislation.He urged the members to play a positive role and work together in the best national interests whilst rising above their personal interests. He said Pakistan is our identity and we will have to collectively work for the welfare of the masses.

Who is Asad Qaiser?

Asad Qaiser Khan has remained the 14th speaker of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly between 2013 and 2018. During General Election 2018, he has won National Assembly seat from NA-18 constituency of Swabi District of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.Asad Qaisar is one of the founding and prominent workers of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf in KPK. He was also the president of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, until 2013 where he had to resign due to his election as speaker, a role which PTI claims should be neutral

He was born on 15 November 1969 in Swabi District of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. He belongs to a very respected family in the village of Marghuz, Swabi District. He received his early education from Government higher secondary school in Marghuz, and later graduated from University of Peshawar.

Asad Qaiser joined PTI in 1996 and began his career in PTI as a worker and rose to the rank of district president of Swabi. He was initially appointed as the provincial President of PTI in 2008. The office he held till 2011 when the provincial leadership was dissolved by chairman PTI Imran Khan prior to the Intra-Party elections.In March 2013, he won the intra party elections. In the 2013 general elections he stood from NA-13 SWABI-II and PK-35 SWABI-V where he was elected as legislator from both but he held on to PK-35 SWABI-V constituency of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly against his candidate from PML-N, and then got elected by the provincial assembly, as Speaker of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and served till 2018.

Related News:

Asad Qaiser Thanked Members For Reposing Confidence in Him

PTI’s Asad Qaiser Sworn In As Speaker National Assembly

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top