Abb Takk News

PPP Resigns From PDM Posts

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) said on Tuesday that it has submitted its resignations to the president of the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) as announced by Chairman Bilawal Bhutto.

“Today, we submitted the resignations of our party leaders — Sherry Rehman, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf and Qamar Zaman Kaira — to Maulana Fazlur Rehman,” Nayyar Hussain Bukhari.

The PDM, an alliance of 11 opposition political parties was formed in September last year to launch an anti-government movement.

But earlier this month, differences began to emerge within its ranks. First, the Awami National Party (ANP) announced it was quitting from its positions in the PDM. Then on Monday, the second largest opposition party in the country, PPP, also announced to step down from the offices allotted to it in the PDM.

Earlier on Monday, after a meeting of CEC, PPP decided to resign from steering committee of opposition’s Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM).

PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari said that in first phase, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Sherry Rehman and Qamar Zaman Kaiwar will tender their resignations.

Opposition alliance was deliberately tried to harm by issuing show cause notice to PPP, he added.

PPP leader said that those who want to resign from the assemblies should go ahead but they should not dictate any other political party. No one is allowed to impose any decision on us, he added.