Abb Takk News

PPP Wins Seven Senate Seats From Sindh

KARACHI: The race between candidates was for a total of eleven seats, of which PPP bagged seven — five general, one women, and one technocrat — and the government won four — two general, one women, and one technocrat.

PPP’s Saleem Mandviwalla, Sherry Rehman, Taj Haider, Shahadat Aiwan, and Jam Mehtab Dhar have been elected to general seats.

Among the government candidates PTI’s Faisal Vawda won one seat while its allied party MQM’s Faisal Sabzwari won the other.

PPP’s Palwasha Khan won one seat with 60 votes. The party’s other candidate Rukhshana Shah secured 46 votes.

MQM candidate Khalida Ateeb emerged the second victor, obtaining eight votes less from the Opposition side, but managing to secured 57 votes.

Of the two technocrat seats PPP’s Farooq H Naek won one with five more votes that the opponents, whereas PTI’s Saifullah Abro won the other with 57 votes.

PPP candidates got a total of 104 votes, with Naek getting 61 and Kareem Khwaja getting 43.

The PTI allied parties got eight votes fewer than the Sindh government candidates.