Abb Takk News
Abbtakk PakistanElection 2018News TickerPakistanTop NewsTRENDING

PPP’s Agha Siraj Elected Speaker Sindh Assembly

Karachi (August 15, 2018): Sindh Assembly on Wednesday elected PPP’s candidate, Agha Siraj as Speaker of the house.

Agha Siraj secured 96 votes, while his opponent Javed Hanif secured 59 votes. Nadir Magsi administered the oath of Speaker to Agha Siraj Durrani.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

The PPP had submitted nomination papers for Durrani as the speaker and Rehana Leghari as the deputy speaker in the provincial assembly.

The joint opposition had fielded Javed Hanif of MQM-P for the post of speaker and PTI’s Rabia Azfar Nizami for deputy speaker.

The elections for the two posts were held through secret balloting by 165 elected members of the 168-member house.Newly Elected Sindh Assembly Members Sworn InEarlier on August 13, newly elected members of Sindh Assembly were administered oath.

The inaugural session of the assembly was chaired by the speaker, Agha Siraj Durrani. 168 members of the house took oath for the upcoming tenure of the Sindh Assembly.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Members took oath in three Sindhi, Urdu and English Languages.

In Sindh Assembly, the PPP won 73 general provincial assembly seats, with the inclusion of five minority and 17 women reserved seats, it is leading the tally with 95 seats.The PTI has been allocated 30 seats, including 23 general seats, five reserved women, and two minority members. While the MQM-Pakistan will have its 21 members in the assembly after winning 16 general seats, four reserved women and one minority seats.

The GDA will have 15-member representation in the Sindh Assembly. Under the seat-share formula, it has been given four reserved women and one minority seat on its 10 general seats.

Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) will have three members in the legislative assembly with two members on general seats and one reserved women seat. Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal will have one-member representation in the assembly.

Related News:

KP Assembly Elects Mushtaque Ghani As Speaker

Voting Underway For Speaker, Dy Speaker in Sindh, KP Assemblies