Abb Takk News

Iftikhar Ahmed stars as Karachi Kings down Lahore by five wickets

DUBAI: Karachi Kings defeated Lahore Qalandars by five wickets courtesy Iftikhar Ahmed’s All-round performance in the 20th match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 4) played at Dubai Cricket Stadium on Thursday.

Karachi Kings couldn’t get a good start as both the openers were sent back to the pavilion by Lamichhane at the score of 28 runs.

Kings lost their first wicket in shape of Babar Azam. He made 11 runs off 12 balls, hitting 2 fours. Another batsman who got out was Munro. He scored 15 runs by facing 12 deliveries.

Kings were 59 for 2 at the end of 10 overs. The 11th over of match was good one for Kings as Livingstone smashed 2 fours and a six to leg-spinner Yasir Shah, making the chase easier for Kings.

In the very next over Haris Rauf removed Colin Ingram at the score of 78. It was nearly a Yorker on middle, and Ingram tries to play across the line. He misses, and the ball crashes into middle stump.

Kings were 84 for 3 when Yasir Shah bowled well-set batsman Livingstone, taking the revenge of his previous over. He made 38 runs off 34 balls smashing 3 fours and 2 sixes.

Iftikhar Ahmed was awarded match of the match for his all-round performance with the bat and ball.

First innings: 

Earlier, Karachi Kings’ bowling attack restricted Lahore Qalandars to 133 runs in the second fixture at the Dubai International tonight.

AB de Villiers with his 33 runs innings off 32 balls remained the highest scorer for the Qalandars before giving his wicket to fast bowler Muhammad Aamir in his attempt to back-sweep.

Sohail Akhtar contributed unbeaten 29 runs in the death overs of the innings.

For the Kings, Iftikhar Ahmed took two wickets while skipper Imad Wasim, Muhammad Aamir and Umer Khan took one each.

Karachi Kings captain Imad Wasim has won the toss and elected to bowl first against Lahore Qalandars in the fourth edition of the Pakistan Super League at Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Thursday night.

The Kings currently sit at the bottom of the points table having won just two games from six. Lahore on the other hand, are on fourth position.

Lahore Qalandars

AB de Villiers, Fakhar Zaman (c), Yasir Shah, Corey Anderson, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sohail Akhtar, Haris Sohail, Gauhar Ali, Aizaz Cheema, Haris Rauf, David Wiese

Karachi Kings

Imad Wasim (c), Colin Munro, Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir, Colin Ingram, Mohammad Rizwan, Aaron Summers, Aamir Yamin, Ben Dunk, Liam Livingstone, Umer Khan