Abb Takk News

PSL 4: Multan Sultans down Islamabad United by six wickets

DUBAI: Multan Sultans defeated Islamabad United by six wickets in the 16th T20 match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2019 played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium here on Tuesday.

Batting first United set 122-runs target for Sultans in the allotted 20 overs.

In response, Multan easily chased down the target in the 19th over by losing only four wickets.

Umar Siddiq helped Sultans to register their second win of the tournament as opener fell short of his second PSL 4 fifity. He scored 46 runs off 45 balls smashing five fours and one six.

He was removed by Ruman Raees courtesy of an excellent catch from Mohammad Musa.

Muhammad Mosa, Ruman Raees, Samit Patel and Shadab Khan picked up one wicket each from Islamabad bowling side.

Daniel Christian was the Man of the match for his brilliant match-winning spell.


First Innings: 

Islamabad United bowled out on 121 runs in just 17.4 overs against Multan Sultans.

Opener Luke Ronchi scored 32 off 16 while Asif Ali resisted with his innings of 22 runs off 12 balls.

DT Christian was pick of the bowler as he took three wickets. Shahid Afridi, Nauman Ali and Muhammad Ilyas took two wickets each while Muhammad Irfan picked one.

Multan Sultans off to a good start as United lost two successive wickets in the powerplay at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium tonight.

CS Delport and Sahibzada Farhan were dismissed on four runs respectively. Meanwhile, Samit Patel and Luke Ronchi are on crease right now.

Earlier, Multan Sultans captain Shoaib Malik had won the toss and decided to bowl first against Islamabad United.

Multan have made two changes in their team as Nauman and Evans have been brought in place of Hammad and Green. Islamabad, on the other hand, made no changes in their side.

At the moment, Sultans sit at the bottom of the points table with only one win from five games so far, whereas United have fared much better and sit at third position, with six points from five games.

Multan Sultans:

Shoaib Malik (c), Umar Siddiq, Shahid Afridi, JM Vince, J Charles, DT Christian, LJ Evans, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Irfan, Nauman Ali

Islamabad United:

CS Delport, L Ronchi, Sahibzada Farhan, SR Patel, Hussain Talat, Shadab Khan (c), Faheem Ashraf, WD Parnell, Asif Ali, Rumman Raees, Muhammad Musa