Abb Takk News

PTI Names Shibli Faraz As Leader Of House In Senate

Islamabad (August 25, 2018): Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf has nominated Senator Shibli Faraz for the slot of leader of the house in the Senate.

In this regard, an application has been moved to Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Earlier on August 18, Pakistan Muslim League (N) nominated Raja Zafarul Haq as its opposition leader in Senate and submitted an application to change the opposition leader in Sherry Rehman after Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) abstained in NA for the election of Prime Minister.

Earlier on August 17, the PML-N decided to bring its opposition leader in Senate after Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) withdrew its support for Shehbaz Sharif for the post of prime minister. National Party, Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (Fazl) extended support to PML-N in its bid to replace Sherry Rehman as the opposition leader, sources further said.

The PML-N chairman has previously served as leader of the house in Senate. Sherry Rehman was made Leader of the Opposition in the Senate in March 2018

Shehbaz was nominated as the prime minister candidate of the joint opposition which included the PML-N, PPP, MMA and ANP.However, the PPP decided to abstain from voting in the PM election over reservations on Shehbaz being the candidate for prime minister. PPP leader Khursheed Shah had stressed that if the PML-N did not change its PM candidate then the PPP would make a decision accordingly.

Related News:

Chairman Senate Returns Home After Five Day Visit To China