Abb Takk News

RO Clears Nomination Papers of Asif Zardari For NA-213

Nawabshah(June 19, 2018): Nomination papers of Former President and Co-Chairman of the PPP, Asif Ali Zardari from NA 213 has been approved by the Returning Officer(RO) on Tuesday.

A petitioner, objecting to Zardari’s candidature, said that the former president had purchased 1,500 acres of agricultural land in Sanghar but had failed to pay tax. He was also accused of not paying water tax for using canal water.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Returning officer, Muhamamd Mehmood Awan rejected the objections and gave green signal to Asif Ali Zardari to contest elections.

Earlier, returning Officer of NA-131 had accepted nomination papers of PTI Chief Imran Khan.

Former CJP, Iftikhar Chaudhry challenged had challenged nomination papers of Imran Khan.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video Imran Khan was asked to appear in person today by the RO, but he was unable to appear due to his busy schedule.

Yesterday, Lawyer Babar Awan submitted the reply on behalf of his client Imran Khan.Imran’s nomination papers for NA-131 present a tax figure different than what is mentioned in his tax returns filed with FBR.

The objection was raised by a candidate of the Justice and Democratic Party led by the former chief justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Mohammed Chaudhry.

The erstwhile top judge claimed  Imran was ineligible to hold public office under Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution because he fathered a child out of wedlock with Sita White.Nominations of Shahbaz, Bilawal Approved The nomination papers of Pakistan Peoples Party Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz President Shahbaz Sharif for different constituencies have been accepted as the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) concludes the scrutiny process of nomination papers.

Bilawal’s nominations papers for NA-246 (Karachi) have been accepted along with nomination papers of Shehbaz and his son, Hamza Shehbaz, for NA-132 (Lahore).  The nominations papers of Pak Sarzameen Party leader Arshad Vohra for NA-254 (Karachi) and NA-255 (Karachi) have also been approved, along with nomination papers of Jamiat Ulema-e Islam (F) chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman’s for NA-38 (Dera Ismail Khan).

Maryam Nawaz’s Nomination Papers Accepted:

Earlier, Nomination Papers of Maryam Nawaz were cleared by the RO for Lahore’s NA-125.

The NA-125 constituency, situated in the heart of Lahore, was the NA-120 constituency prior to the new delimitation of constituencies.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video:

NA-120 was bagged by former premier Nawaz in the 2013 elections and after his disqualification, by his wife Kulsoom Nawaz even though she did not take part in the campaign herself.

Nominations of Farooq Sattar Rejected: 

Nomination papers of MQM-Pakistan’s Farooq Sattar from NA-245 had been rejected by the Returning Officer on Tuesday.

The returning officer of NA- 245, Ahsan Khan rejected the nomination papers of Farooq Sattar.RO, Ahsan Khan stated that Farooq Sattar is absconder in two cases. Farooq Sattar has not mentioned this in nomination papers.

However, counsel of Farooq Sattar remarked that his client was unaware of the two cases.

Sattar has submitted nomination papers from three constituencies in Karachi — NA-241, 245 and 247 — to contest the general election scheduled to be held on July 25.

Nomination Papers of Pervez Musharraf Rejected:

Nomination Papers of Former President and Chief of All Pakistan Muslim Leauge, Pervez Musharraf on Tuesday has been rejected from NA-1, Chitral.Nomination papers of Pervez Musharraf were rejected by the Returning Officer(RO) of NA-1, Chitral, Muhammad Khan.

Related News:

ECP To Complete Scrutiny Of Nomination Papers Today

Imran Khan Rejected in NA 53, Cleared in NA 131, NA 243