Abb Takk News

Shehryar Afridi Takes Oath As State Minister For Interior

Islamabad (August 31, 2018): PTI Member National Assembly (MNA) Shahryar Afridi took oath as Minister of State today.

President Mamnoon Hussain administered oath to him at a ceremony in Islamabad today.

The 47-year-old won the July ballot from the NA-32 constituency in Kohat, after defeating Gohar Khan Bangash of the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA). He secured the same constituency (then NA-14) in the last election, but in 2016 was deseated by the election commission over misdeclaration of assets.Born in Kohat in 1971, he completed his masters in International Relations from the Peshawar University. While he sat for the civil service exams, he was not successful. One of his brothers, Major (r ) Tariq Javed also served in the bureaucracy after his stint in the armed forces. His father, Nadir Shah Afridi, was the district counsellor in the 1990s, and later a member of the parliament.

Earlier on August 28, the government decided to makeShehryar Khan Afridi as Minister of State for Interior.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Imran Khan had earlier decided to keep control of the Ministry of Interior by himself.

Shehryar Khan Afridi was elected as a member of National Assembly (MNA) from Kohat during election 2018. He had also won from a seat during the 2013 general polls.

Earlier on August 20, a 16 member federal cabinet took oath at the presidency.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

The ceremony was attended by the prime minister, along with other dignitaries.

Following are the names of Ministers and their portfolios.

  • Asad Umar                           Finance Minister
  • Shah Mehmood Qureshi   Foreign Minister
  • Chaudhary Tariq Bashir    State and Frontier Region
  • Noorul Haq Qadri              Religious Affairs and Interfaith Harmony
  • Shireen Mazari                   Human Rights
  • Ghulam Sarwar Khan       Petroleum Division
  • Zubaida Jalal                      Defence Production
  • Shafqat Mehmood             Federal Education and professional training
  • Fawad Chaudhry                Information and Broadcasting Division
  • Sheikh Rasheed                  Railways
  • Amir Mehmood Kiyani     National Health Services
  • Farogh Naseem                  Law and Justice
  • Pervez Khattak                   Defence
  • Fehmida Mirza                   Inter-provincial Coordination
  • Khalid Mqbool Siddiquie Information Technology and Telecommunication

Related News:

Shehryar Afridi To Become State Minister For Interior