Abb Takk News

Sindh Assembly Re-elects Murad Ali Shah As Chief Minister

Karachi (August 16, 2018): Pakistan Peoples Party’s candidate Murad Ali Shah has been re-elected as Chief Minister of Sindh.

He has been re-elected as 27th Chief Minister of Sindh for next five years.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

During the session chaired by newly-elected Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani, members of provincial assembly cast the votes for their favorite candidate.

After the counting, PPP’s Murad Ali Shah was declared victorious with 97 votes while opposition’s candidate Shahryar Mahar faced defeat.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Addressing the House, newly-elected Chief Minister of Sindh Murad Ali Shah said that two-third majority of his party was snatched in election 2018.

Shah thanked the members for trusting him and said that he has followed footsteps of his father, who was also Chief Minister of Sindh. He asserted that the country was distributed after the death of Quaid-e-Azam Mohammad Ali Jinnah.

Bringing change in Pakistan is good, but people forget their history. They should also remember the black era of dictator Zia-ul-Haq, he added.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

The Chief minister said that people voted for PPP despite negative propaganda and that Asif Ali Zardari took forward the country by raising slogan of ‘Pakistan Khapay’.

I was criticized for focusing only on urban areas but development can be seen in other parts of Karachi, he continued.

Profile of Murad Ali Shah

Syed Murad Ali Shah was born in Karachi to Syed Abdullah Shah the former Chief Minister of Sindh. He did his Matriculation from Saint Patrick’s High School, Intermediate from D. J. Sindh Government Science College in Karachi and admitted at the engineering programme at the NED University of Engineering and Technology.

Shah graduated with B.E. in Civil engineering and was a silver medalist upon his graduation from the NED University of Engineering and Technology. After earning the Quaid-e-Azam scholarship, he went to United States and attended Stanford University in California where he completed his M.Sc. in structural engineering. He completed a second master’s from Stanford University two years later in economic system where again he was on an international scholarship.From 1986 till 1990, Shah pursued his engineering career with the Government of Sindh as he served as water engineer at the WAPDA in Lahore, and later went to join the Port Qasim Authority in Karachi. In addition, he also served as city engineer for Hyderabad’s Development Authority before joining the corporate staff he served as an engineer at Wapda, Port Qasim Authority and the Hyderabad Development Authority before joining Citibank.

Shah then went on to work for Citibank in Sindh and in London. He also worked at the Gulf Investment Corporation in Kuwait. He became member of the Provincial Assembly of Sindh in 2002 for the first time from PS-77 Jamshoro-cum-Dadu (Old Dadu III).Shah was elected to the Sindh Assembly in 2008 as a member of the Pakistan Peoples Party and served as the National Minister for Irrigation under Syed Qaim Ali Shah’s cabinet, and in 2013 was elevated as the National finance minister.[9] In July 2016, Shah was elected to the Chief Minister’s Office.

He served as Minister for Irrigation (Sindh ) and Finance Minister of Sindh before elevation to the Chief Minister of Sindh in 2016. Shah was barred from contesting 2013 despite giving up his Canadian citizenship. After proving to the courts that he did not hold Canadian nationality, Shah was able to run in the election. He was elected to the Sindh Assembly for a third consecutive time. He was subsequently assigned the finance ministry in the National cabinet.Agha Siraj, Rehana Leghari Sworn In As Speaker, Dy SpeakerEarlier, Pakistan Peoples Party won both Speaker and Deputy Speaker-ship in Sindh Assembly.

Agha Siraj secured 96 votes, while his opponent MQM-Pakistan’s Javed Hanif secured 59 votes.

Nadir Magsi administered the oath of Speaker to Agha Siraj Durrani.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

The elections for the two posts were held through secret balloting by 165 elected members of the 168-member house.

Later, Rehana Leghari was elected as Deputy Speaker of the Sindh Assembly after securing 98 votes, while Rabia Azfar of joint opposition secured 59 votes.

On August 13, newly elected members of Sindh Assembly were administered oath.

The inaugural session of the assembly was chaired by the speaker, Agha Siraj Durrani. 168 members of the house took oath for the upcoming tenure of the Sindh Assembly.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Members took oath in three Sindhi, Urdu and English Languages.

In Sindh Assembly, the PPP won 73 general provincial assembly seats, with the inclusion of five minority and 17 women reserved seats, it is leading the tally with 95 seats.The PTI has been allocated 30 seats, including 23 general seats, five reserved women, and two minority members. While the MQM-Pakistan will have its 21 members in the assembly after winning 16 general seats, four reserved women and one minority seats.

The GDA will have 15-member representation in the Sindh Assembly. Under the seat-share formula, it has been given four reserved women and one minority seat on its 10 general seats.

Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) will have three members in the legislative assembly with two members on general seats and one reserved women seat. Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal will have one-member representation in the assembly.

Related News:

Sindh Assembly To Elect New Leader of House Today

Agha Siraj, Rehana Leghari Sworn In As Speaker, Dy Speaker