Abb Takk News

T20 World Cup: Oman Wins By 10 Wickets Against Papua New Guinea

DUBAI: Oman were off to a flying start in the Twenty 20 World Cup on Sunday with a 10-wicket rout of debutants Papua New Guinea.

Papua New Guinea were dismissed for 131 in 13.4 overs.

Oman skipper Zeeshan Maqsood won the toss and elected to bowl against Papua New Guinea.Papua New Guinea in response set a 130-run target for Oman to chase.

The side was dismissed for 129-9 at the end of 20 overs with Oman skipper Zeeshan Maqsood coming away with the bulk of the haul — four wickets in exchange for 20 runs.

Kaleemullah and Bilal Khan picked up two wickets each.

Papua New Guinea’s top scorer was skipper Assad Vala, who made 56 runs off 43 deliveries. He was caught out off Kaleemullah’s ball taken comfortably by Jatinder Singh.

The only other remarkable performances were by Charles Amini (37 off 26) and Sese Bau (133 off 13).

Oman: Jatinder Singh, Khawar Ali, Aqib Ilyas, Zeeshan Maqsood (capt), Naseem Khushi (wk), Prajapathi, Mohammad Nadeem, Ayan Khan, Sandeep Goud, Kaleemullah, Bilal Khan

Papua New Guinea: Tony Ura, Assad Vala (capt), Charles Amini, Lega Siaka, Norman Vanua, Sese Bau, Simon Atai, Kiplin Doriga (wk), Nosaina Pokana, Damien Ravu, Kabua Morea

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (NZL), Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

TV umpire: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)