Abb Takk News

Three Fathers, Sons Take Oath As MNA

Islamabad (August 13, 2018): Unique distinction was witnessed on Monday in the first session of the 15th National Assembly, in which three fathers and three sons took oath as the member of the assembly.

Father and sons who have been elected MNAs included Asif Ali Zardari and his son Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, Pervaiz Malik and his son Ali Pervaiz Malik and Makhdoom Shah Mehmood Qureshi and his son Zain Qureshi.

Pervaiz Malik won the election from NA-133 bagging 89,678 votes against Ejaz Chaudhary of PTI who secured 77,231 votes. While Mr. Malik’s son Ali Pervaiz Malik won NA-127 (Lahore) with a huge 113,265 votes against Jamshed Iqbal Cheema of PTI who got 66,818 votes.Similarly, Shah Mehmood Qureshi won NA-156 (Multan-3) with 116,272 votes while PML-N’s Amir Saeed Ansari was the runner-up with 84,940 votes. Qureshi’s son Zain Qureshi emerged victorious from NA-157 (Multan-4) with 77,371 votes, while Ali Musa Gillani, son of former PM Yousuf Raza Gillani, came second with 70,830 votes.

Likewise, Asif Ali Zardari secured the National Assembly seat from NA-213 (Shaheed Benazirabad-1) with whopping 101,362 votes, beating Sardar Shair Muhammad Rind of the Grand Democratic Alliance who got just 53,520 votes. While, Bilawal Bhutto won NA-200 (Larkana) with 84,426 votes and MMA’s Rashid Mehmood Soomro received 50,200 votes.

It is to be mentioned here that outgoing NA speaker Ayaz Sadiq administered oath to 331 MNAs-elect in the 342-member house during 15th session.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Election For PM To Be Held on August 17

The election of the Prime Minister is conditional on the submission of their nomination papers on August 16,  if it is done as per schedule, would pave the way for the process to be completed by the evening on the same day. Otherwise, the selection will be done on the morning of August 17.

The Prime Minister-elect’s oath-taking ceremony is slated for August 18, at the President House.

Once the allotment of general seats was finalised, those reserved for women and minorities were also allocated to the political parties.

PTI Leading with 158 Seats In National Assembly

Leading the race with the most number of MNA-elects is the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) with 158 seats (125 general, 28 women and five minorities).However, candidates with dual nationalities are required to leave their seats which would reduce the tally for the Imran Khan-led PTI, leaving them to rely on support from Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan’s seven members, Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid’s five, Balochistan Awami Party’s five, and Balochistan National Party-Mengal’s four members.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz is in second place with a total of 82 seats, after winning 64 general seats, two minority seats and 16 women seats.

The Pakistan Peoples Party is at a distant third with a total of 53 seats, with 42 general seats, two seats reserved for minorities, and nine reserved for women.

Related News:

Newly Elected National Assembly Members Take Oath

Balochistan Assembly Sworn In As 61 Members Take Oath