Abb Takk News

Usman Dar, Jamsheed Dasti Pleas For Recount Rejected

Web Desk (August 08, 2018): Lahore High Court has rejected PTI’s leader Usman Dar’s plea demanding vote recount in NA-73.

While announcing the decision, the court upheld Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Asif’s victory in the constituency.

Earlier on July 27, Dar challenged victory of Khawaja Asif in LHC. In his petition submitted through Advocate Anees Hashmi and Advocate Tajamul Gondal, had challenged the victory of Asif pleading that the returning officer did not provide Form-45 to the polling agents.PTI’s Usman Dar Challenges Kh Asif’s Victory in NA-73The PTI leader maintained that as many as 7,346 votes were dismissed in his constituency and he lost to the PML-N leader by a margin of 1,406 votes.

It is to be mentioned here that on July 25, Khawaja Asif obtained 116957 votes against PTI’s Usman Dar who secured 115464 votes in the constituency.

SC Rejects Jamshed Dasti’s Plea For Vote Recount in NA-182

Ont the other hand, the Supreme Court rejected a petition filed by Awami Raj Party (ARP) chairman Jamshed Dasti seeking recounting of ballot papers in the national assembly constituency, NA-182, Muzaffargarh.

Headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan Mian Saqib Nisar, a bench of the apex court directed the petitioner to approach the relevant forum for redressal of his grievance.Alleging irregularities in the election process, Dasti said power supply was suspended in his constituency at 11:00 pm on the election day of July 25, hence, the returning officer announced results at 2:00 pm the next day.

He requested the bench to order recounting of ballots in this constituency.

The ARP chairman contested from two National Assembly Seats NA-182 and NA-183 and a provincial assembly seat in southern Punjab district of Muzaffargarh, but couldn’t win a single seat in the election.

The PPP candidates, Mahar Irshad Sial, Raza Rabani Khar, and Nawabzada Iftikhar Ahmad won three national assembly seats NA-182, NA-183, and 184, in Muzaffargarh, respectively.

Related News:

NA-73: LHC Stops Asif’s Victory Notification

Khawaja Asif Remains Victorious After Recounting In NA-73