Abb Takk News

Wahga Border Blast Case Verdict Announced

LAHORE: An Anti-terrorism Court (ATC) on Wednesday announced five death penalties each for the three accused over their involvement in Wagah border blast of 2014.

The ATC judge Ejaz Ahmed announced the verdict while the court awarded death penalty five times  to Haseeb Ullah, Hussain Ullah and Saeed Jan.

The court also ordered the accused to serve 24-year imprisonment along with paying a fine of one million rupees before their hanging orders are executed.

It also directed the convicts to pay one million rupees each to the family of the victims.

The court also acquitted three accused in the case giving a benefit of doubt to them. They are named as Shafiq, Ghulam Hussain and Azeem.

The ATC court announced the verdict after recording as many as 101 witnesses.

It is pertinent to mention here that a bomb blast along the Wahga border had claimed 70 innocent lives in 2014.