Abb Takk News

Women’s T20 WC: Pakistan Announce Squad

LAHORE: Pakistan national women’s selection committee on Monday announced a 15-player squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

The tournament is to be held in Australia from February 21 to March 8.

The selectors have recalled Muneeba Ali and Aimen Anwar, while also naming the uncapped Ayesha Naseem in the squad.

The trio have replaced Nahida Khan, Ayesha Zafar and Rameen Shamim in the T20I squad, which lost 3-0 to England in Kuala Lumpur last month.

Pakistan captain Bismah Maroof said: “I am pleased that we have come forward with the best possible line-up which has the potential to have an impressive run at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

Pakistan are drawn with England, South Africa, Thailand and the West Indies in Group B.

The Bismah Maroof-led unit begin their ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 journey on 26 February against the West Indies Women. The take on England Women on February 28 after which they play South Africa Women and Thailand Women on 1 and 3 March.

The Pakistan team will depart for Australia on January 31 and will play three warm-up matches against the West Indies on 7, 9 and 11 February. Prior to their departure, the team will have an eight-day camp from January 23 to 30 at the Hanif Mohammad High-Performance Centre, Karachi.

Bismah Maroof (captain)
Aimen Anwar
Aliya Riaz
Anam Amin
Ayesha Naseem
Diana Baig
Fatima Sana
Iram Javed
Javeria Khan
Muneeba Ali
Nida Dar
Omaima Sohail
Sadia Iqbal
Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper)
Syeda Aroob Shah