Abb Takk News
Abbtakk PakistanMOST POPULARNews TickerPakistanSports

HBL PSL: Sammy, Pollard Heroics in Vain as Quetta Beat Peshawar

KARACHI: Quetta Gladiators qualified for final of the 2019 Pakistan Super League with a 10-run victory against Peshawar Zalmi at the National Stadium in Karachi.

Zalmi, who were chasing a 197-run target set by the Gladiators, managed to score 176 runs by the end of their 20 overs.

Superb effort from Sammy (46 off 21)  and Pollard (44 off 22) at the end, but Hasnain and Nawaz had done splendidly to give Zalmi no momentum at all at the start of their chase.

Quetta Gladiators has set 187-run target for Peshawar Zalmi in the first qualifier of PSL.

Watson led the scoreboard with a 71-run knock followed by Ahsan Ali with 46 runs.

For Zalmi, Wahab Riaz picked up two wickets while Sameen Gul, KA Pollard, TS Mills and Hasan Ali each picked up a single wicket.

Earlier, Peshawar have won the toss and elected to bowl first against Quetta.

The table-toppers, Zalmi and Gladiators are playing for a direct spot in the final.

Peshawar have won four out of their last four, Quetta three of their last four, with the only loss being that one-run loss against Karachi Kings on March 11.

Quetta Gladiators have finished runner-up in 2016 and 2017, while Peshawar Zalmi outlasted them in the third vs fourth Eliminator in 2018. Interestingly, every time the margin of victory was one-run.

This proves no team is ready to give up until the last-run as the winner will feature in the sell-out March 17 final.

The losing side will have another opportunity to qualify for the final when they will meet the winner of Thursday’s eliminator between Karachi Kings and Islamabad United on Friday (March 15).

Quetta XI: Shane Watson, Ahmed Shehzad, Ahsan Ali, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt. and wk), Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nawaz, Dwayne Bravo, Mohammad Hasnain, Sohail Tanvir, Fawad Ahmed

Peshawar XI: Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal (wk), Sohaib Maqsood, Misbah-ul-Haq, Liam Dawson, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy (capt.), Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Tymal Mills, Sameen Gul