Abb Takk News

In the 13th match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, Canada secured their first victory by defeating Ireland by 12 runs in a thrilling encounter.

Canada’s Innings:

Batting first, Canada managed to score 137 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Nicholas Kirton was the standout performer with 49 runs. Other notable contributions came from Shreyas Movva (37), Pranav Santh (18), and Arun Johnson (14), before they were dismissed.

On the bowling front, Craig Young and Mark Adair claimed two wickets each for Ireland, while Josh Little and Simi Singh managed to dismiss one player each.

Ireland’s Chase:

In response to Canada’s target, Ireland struggled to keep up with the required run rate and could only manage to score 125 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in their stipulated 20 overs.

Mark Adair top-scored for Ireland with 34 runs, followed by George Dockrell with 30 runs. However, the rest of the batting lineup failed to build significant partnerships, resulting in Ireland falling short of the target.

For Canada, Gordon and Heigher picked up two wickets each, contributing to Ireland’s downfall.

It’s worth noting that both Ireland and Canada were playing their second match of the event. Ireland had previously lost to India, while Canada suffered defeat at the hands of the United States in their opening matches.

This victory marks a significant moment for Canada in the T20 World Cup, showcasing their potential to compete against established cricketing nations.