Abb Takk News
Abbtakk PakistanEditors ChoiceMOST POPULARNews TickerPakistanTop NewsTRENDING

Five member committee constituted to extend Pakistan Protection Act

Federal government has constituted a five-member committee to extend Pakistan Protection Act and Anti Terrorism Act  amendment . The committee after consultation with opposition parties will present recommendations  to Prime Minister (PM) Nawaz Sharif regarding extension in two special laws.

Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, Finance Minister Ishaq Dar, Law Minister Zahid Hamid, Minister Railway Saad Rafique and Information Minister Pervez Rasheed have been made part of the committee.

It is pertinent to mention here that Pakistan Protect Act deadline ended on July 15 while Anti Terrorism Act Amendment 2014 no more effective after June 14 and the laws were envisaged for giving harsh punishments to terrorists, criminals, target killers apprehended during operations carried out in Karachi and other  areas in the country.

The government sources said that the committee will take input from all political parties of the country and then submit recommendations to the PM to extend laws.

Sources further added that if political parties assured to cooperate for giving extension in the laws then the laws will be bring into the parliament and if they did not cooperate then it is likely that  the extension in the laws will be given through  presidential order.