Abb Takk News
Abbtakk Pakistan MOST POPULAR News Ticker Pakistan TRENDING

Jamaat-e-Islami Decides To Abstain From PM Election

Lahore (August 16, 2018): Following the PPP refusal to support Shehbaz Sharif for PM slot election in National Assembly, the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) has also decided to not vote for Shehbaz Sharif and remain silent.

The opposition has already been shaken and dents continuously appearing in its ranks that put the second largest party in National assembly PML-N in the sheer plight that faded the chances of Shehbaz Sharif to become the leader of the house (Prime Minister).

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

The Markazi Shura, executive council of JI has decided to not vote for Shehbaz Sharif and will stay away from support to any other political party.

“JI will continue its struggle for corruption free Pakistan and steadfast with its slogan accountability for all,” shura decided.

Earlier, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz has decided to bring its opposition leader in Senate after Pakistan Peoples Party reportedly withdrew its support to Shehbaz Sharif for the post of prime minister. Pakistan Peoples Party has decided to attend the Friday’s session but not to vote for any candidate, while JI has also decided to remain silent.The National Assembly will elect the country’s 22nd prime minister on Friday. The two candidates Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan and PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif are in the run, whose nomination papers were accepted earlier.

Nomination papers on their behalf were submitted by their party leaders in the National Assembly secretariat on Wednesday.

Election for the office will be held tomorrow, for which the session of the National Assembly has already been summoned at 3.30 in the afternoon.Numbers game
With the loss of the PPP (54 seats), Shehbaz Sharif will now face an almost impossible task to be elected as prime minister. The PML-N has 81 seats in the National Assembly and it is yet unclear if the party will still be supported by the MMA (15 seats) and ANP (1 seat). Jamaat-e-Islami which is part of the MMA has announced that it will not vote in the election.

On the other hand, Imran Khan’s PTI has 151 seats and with the support of its allies, the total stands at 175 which is more than the required simple majority.

Related News: 

Tit For Tat: PPP To Abstain in NA, N To Quit Support in Senate

Forward Bloc Emerged in N As 12 MPAs Did Not Vote For Gujjar