Abb Takk News

Voting Time Ends In NA-75 Daska By-poll

Daska: Voting in the National Assembly constituency NA-75 Daska by-election has ended.

The counting process started shortly thereafter, with the main contest expected to remain between the PTI and PML-N candidates. 

The voting in the constituency had started at 8 am and ended its due time at 5 pm. No untoward, violent incident reported this time during the polling.

A close contest is expected between PTI’s Ali Asjad Malhi and PML-N’s Nosheen Iftikhar in today’s NA-75 Daska by-polls.

Both candidates, however, expressed satisfaction with the overall arrangements for the by-polls. 

Polling for the NA-75 seat in the National Assembly started 8 am. Pakistan Rangers personnel deployed along with police at the polling stations while the army remained on standby.

A total of nearly half a million voters had the right to vote in the constituency through 360 polling stations. Out of these, 47 polling stations were declared highly sensitive and were included in Category A, 14 polling station had been classified sensitive and 137 polling stations had been included in Category C.

More than 4,000 police officers and 1,048 Rangers personnel were also deployed in the area, while 10 teams of the Pakistan Army’s Quick Response Force are also available to assist the local administration in maintaining law and order.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has completed all preparations ahead of the re-polling. It has handed over ballot boxes, stamps and other election paraphernalia to the presiding officers. The equipment was delivered to the respective polling stations under tight security.

Chief Election Commissioner Sikandar Sultan Raja will be present in the Election Commission Office Punjab to monitor the by-elections. A control room has also been set up in the Sialkot Commissioner’s Office.