Abb Takk News
MOST POPULARNews Cafe2News TickerPakistanTop NewsTRENDING

General elections trend continues in by-elections as PML-N takes lead on NA, PA seats

ISLAMABAD: The trend of general elections held on February 8 continued in the by-elections as Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) got the lead on 21 national and provincial seats on Sunday, as per unofficial and unconfirmed results.

The by-elections were held on five NA and 16 vacant seats of provincial assemblies.

According to unconfirmed and unofficial results, (PML-N) won two seats in the NA, while the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC), Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), and an independent candidate have gotten victory one seat each.

In the Punjab Assembly, the PML-N won nine seats out of 12 vacant seats. PPP, Pakistan Muslim League-Q (PML-Q) and Istekham-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) clinched victory on one seat each.

In the Balochistan Assembly, the PML-N and Balochistan National Party (BNP) won one seat each.

SIC and an independent candidate won a single seat each.

Provincial assemblies’ results
Out of 16 seats that were up for grabs in Sunday’s by-polls, Nawaz Sharif’s party bagged 10 seats, increasing its strength in the provincial legislatures.

PM Shehbaz’s vacated PP-164 seat from Lahore was claimed by the PML-N’s Rashid Minhas, who defeated SIC’s Yousuf Meo.

Meanwhile in Gujarat, Chaudhry Parvez Elahi was defeated by his nephew, PML-Q’s Musa Elahi on the PP-32 provincial seat.

In PP-139 Sheikhupura, PML-N’s Rana Afzaal Hussain clinched victory against SIC’s Mian ljaz Hussain Bhatti.

The PP-54 Narowal seat was claimed by federal minister Ahsan Iqbal’s son Ahmed Iqbal who defeated SIC’s Awais Qasim.

In Bhakkar’s PP-93, PML-N’s Saeed Akbar Nawani defeated an independent candidate Afzal Dhandla. In PP-147 Lahore, Muhammad Riaz Malik of PML-N defeated independent candidate Muhammad Khan Madani from Lahore.

In PP-149 Lahore, Muhammad Shoaib Siddiqui of the Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party emerged victorious against SIC’s Zeeshan Rasheed while PML-N’s Chaudhry Muhammad Nawaz won from Lahore’s PP-158, defeating SIC’s Chaudhry Moonis Elahi.

In Chakwal-cum-Talagang’s PP-22, PML-N’s Falak Sher Awan defeated SIC’s Nisar Ahmad.

In Rahim Yar Khan’s PP-266, PPP’s Mumtaz Ali defeated PML-N’s Muhammad Safdar Khan Leghari.

In PP-290 Dera Ghazi Khan, PML-N’s Ali Ahmad Khan Leghari won against independent candidate Sardar Muhammad Mohiuddin while SIC’s Dawood Shah defeated independent candidate Imtiaz Shahid in PK-91 Kohat.

In Balochistan, Muhammad Zareen Khan Magsi of PML-N defeated independent candidate Shah Nawaz Hasan in the PB-22 Lasbela.

In the PB-20 Khuzdar-III constituency, BAP’s Jehanzeb Mengal is leading with 28,122 votes against independent candidate Shafiq-ur-Rehman Mengal who has gained 19,753 votes.