Abb Takk News
Abbtakk PakistanElection 2018News TickerPakistanTRENDING

Hamza Shehbaz Demands Electoral Process Probe

Lahore (August 19, 2018): PML-N’s nominee for Chief Minister Punjab, Hamza Shehbaz on Sunday slammed PTI for coming to power through unfair means, calling it an “unfair match”.

Talking to the newsmen outside Punjab Assembly, Hamza said, we are only taking oaths because we want the process of democracy to continue.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

He demanded a parliamentary commission to probe the electoral process, and said his party will play its constitutional role.

“We will not [resort] to climbing on containers and hurling abuses.”

Newly elected Punjab Assembly will meet in a while to elect Leader of the House.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) nominee for chief minister Punjab slot Usman Buzdar and his rival PML-N’s candidate Hamza Shehbaz submitted nomination papers on Saturday for the post of chief minister Punjab.Earlier on August 17, after being elected as Prime Minister,  Pakistan Tehreek Insaaf Chief Imran Khan nominated Sardar Usman Buzdar as Chief Minister of Punjab.

Sardar Usman Buzdar hails from Dera Ghazi Khan district of Punjab, He garnered 26,897 votes from PP-286 Taunsa Sharif and defeated independent candidate Khawaja Muhammad Nizamul Mehmood.Newly elected Prime Minister of Pakistan and PTI chief Imran Khan announced his decision in a video message.

He said that Usman Buzdar belongs to the deprived area of Punjab, nominated CM Punjab knows that how poor people live their lives.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Buzdar remained a member of Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) from 2002-2008 and later switched to Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

In 2013, he contested the election from PML-N ticket but lost to Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) candidate.In Musharraf era, he remained district Nazim of Taunsa. His father Fatah Muhamnmad Buzdar is a chief of Buzdar tribe and was elected thrice as Member of National Assembly (MNA).

Earlier on August 16, Chaudhry Pervez Elahi was elected as Speaker of the Punjab Assembly after securing  201 votes. PML-N’s Iqbal Gujjar secured  147 votes.

Outgoing Speaker Rana Muhammad Iqbal administered the oath.Two more MPAs-elect, Malik Muhammad Waheed and Muhammad Khan Leghari, were administered oath taking the total number of members to 355. However; four MPAs are still to be sworn in.

The speaker showed the balloting place to the members and switched off the CCTV cameras installed there. Earlier on Wednesday, as many as 360 Punjab Assembly newly elected members were administered oath by outgoing speaker Rana Muhammad Iqbal during the first session of the assembly.

Several members including Chaudhry Pervez Elahi, Aleem Khan, Hamza Shehbaz Sharif, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Dr Yasmin Rashid, Salman Rafique, Ayesha Chaudhry, Chaudhry Zaheerud Din, Bilal Yasin, Nadeem Kamran, Irfan Doltana, Mian Mehmoodur Rasheed, Manshaullah Butt, Murad Ras, Dr Mukhtar Bharat, Zakia Shahnawaz, Uzma Bukhari, Hina Pervaiz Butt, Bushra Anjum Butt and Sania Ashiq took oath.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

However; estranged Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Chaudhry Nisar did not attend the session.PTI has 175 members in the assembly, PML-Q 10, PML-N 162 and PPP 10. Rah-e-Haq party has one member while three independent members were present.

Related News:

Punjab Assembly To Elect New Chief Minister Today