Abb Takk News
Abbtakk PakistanElection 2018MOST POPULARNews TickerPakistanTop NewsTRENDING

PTI’s Asad Qaiser Sworn In As Speaker National Assembly

Islamabad (August 15, 2018): Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) Asad Qaiser on Wednesday sworn in as the 21st Speaker for the National Assembly amid opposition ruckus.

Qaiser bagged 176 votes while Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Syed Khurshid Shah received 146 in the secret balloting process. A total of 330 votes were cast among which eight were rejected.

Outgoing speaker Ayaz Sadiq administered oath to new speaker, who will supervise the election of the deputy speaker for the Lower House of Parliament.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

Opposition parties lodged a strong protest as the new speaker was sworn in. They raised slogans of “Vote ko Izzat Do” and “Jali Mandate Na Manzoor”.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

As Asad Qaiser’s efforts to maintain order in the House went vain, he adjourned the session for 15 minutes.

The polling initiated after a delay of more than an hour due to late arrival of MNAs. As the proceedings begun, oath was administered to five MNAs-elect who failed to attend the inaugural session.

Lawmakers belonging to various political parties, including prime minister-in-waiting Imran Khan and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, are present in the Lower House of Parliament for the election.

PTI chairman forgot to bring his NA registration card with him and was objected by the polling agent of PPP. However; Ayaz Sadiq intervened and permitted Khan to cast his vote.Amongst the prominent figures who cast vote included Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, PPP Co-Chairman Asif Ali Zardari, Asad Qaiser of PTI, Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) president Shehbaz Sharif Khurshid Shah, Khawaja Muhammad Asif and Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.

Who is Asad Qaiser?

Asad Qaiser Khan has remained the 14th speaker of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly between 2013 and 2018. During General Election 2018, he has won National Assembly seat from NA-18 constituency of Swabi District of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.Asad Qaisar is one of the founding and prominent workers of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf in KPK. He was also the president of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, until 2013 where he had to resign due to his election as speaker, a role which PTI claims should be neutral

He was born on 15 November 1969 in Swabi District of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. He belongs to a very respected family in the village of Marghuz, Swabi District. He received his early education from Government higher secondary school in Marghuz, and later graduated from University of Peshawar.

Asad Qaiser joined PTI in 1996 and began his career in PTI as a worker and rose to the rank of district president of Swabi. He was initially appointed as the provincial President of PTI in 2008. The office he held till 2011 when the provincial leadership was dissolved by chairman PTI Imran Khan prior to the Intra-Party elections.In March 2013, he won the intra party elections. In the 2013 general elections he stood from NA-13 SWABI-II and PK-35 SWABI-V where he was elected as legislator from both but he held on to PK-35 SWABI-V constituency of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly against his candidate from PML-N, and then got elected by the provincial assembly, as Speaker of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and served till 2018.

All About Speakers Elected in National Assembly Till Date

Post of speaker is known to be most important in National Assembly, who heads the National Assembly meeting of newly elected members. On the basis of ranking, post of Speaker is considered to be on 4th position, following President, Prime Minister and Chairman of Senate.

In the history of Pakistan, following are all the elected Speakers of National Assembly.

Pakistan’s first constituent assembly was headed by Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah, who honoured the post from August 11, 1947 till his death on September 11, 1948. After the death of Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Al Jinnah, his position was given to Maulvi Tameez Uddin. He remained in the constituent assembly from December 14, 1948, to October 24, 1954. Abdul Wahab Khan was the third Speaker of Pakistan National Assembly, who had the position of Speaker in National Assembly from August 12, 1955, till October 7, 1958.

As the 4th Speaker of National Assembly, Abdul Wahab Khan was succeeded by Maulvi Tameez Uddin, who again got the post from November 6, 1962, to August 19, 1963.

Fazlul Qadir Chaudhry served as the 5th speaker of the National Assembly of Pakistan, from November 29, 1963, to June 12, 1965. Justice Abdul Jabbar Khan was the 6th speaker of National Assembly, from June 12, 1965, till March 25, 1969.

7th Speaker of National Assembly was Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, who had this post from April 14, 1972, till August 15, 1972. Fazal Elahi Chaudhry served as 8th speaker of National Assembly from August 15, 1972, till August 7, 1973. Sahibzada Farooq Ali was the 9th Speaker of National Assembly of Pakistan. He served the post from August 9, 1973, till March 27, 1977.

Malik Meraj Khalid became the 10th speaker of National Assembly, who served the post from March 27, 1977, to July 5, 1977. Syed Fakhar Imam was the 11th Speaker of National Assembly of Pakistan from March 22, 1985, till May 26, 1986.

Chaudhry Hamid Nasir Chattha became the 12th Speaker of National Assembly, from May 31, 1986, till December 3, 1988, .13th Speaker of National Assembly was Malik Meraj Khalid, who got the post twice. In his second session, he served from December 3, 1988, till November 4, 1990.

Gohar Ayub Khan was the 14th Speaker of National Assembly of Pakistan from November 4, 1990, till October 17, 1993.

Syed Yousaf Raza Gillani was the 15th Speaker of National Assembly of Pakistan from October 17, 1993, till February 16, 1997.Elahi Bux Soomro was the 16th Speaker of National Assembly of Pakistan from February 16, 1997 till August 20, 2001. Chaudhry Amir Hussain was the 17th Speaker of National Assembly of Pakistan from September 19, 2002 till March 19, 2008.

Fahmida Mirza was 18th and first-ever female Speaker of National Assembly of Pakistan from March 19, 2008 till June 3, 2013.Sardar Ayaz Sadiq was the 19th Speaker of National Assembly of Pakistan from June 2013 till August 22, 2015, before ECP de-seated him.

After ECP de-seated Ayaz Sadiq, Murtaza Javed Abbasi became the acting Speaker of National Assembly, from August 22, 2015 till November 9, 2015.In November 2015, Sadiq retained its position as the speaker of the National Assembly by getting re-elected for the second time and become the first person to have been elected as the Speaker of National Assembly for the second time during the same government’s tenure in Pakistan.

Today, 20th Speaker is being selected in National Assembly of Pakistan. After which, newly elected Speaker of National Assembly will take the post.

Related News:

Vote For Speaker NA Ends, Counting Underway

PTI’s Mehmood Jaan Sworn In As Dy. Speaker KP Assembly