Abb Takk News

The PML-N clinch 10 seats in the Senate elections in Punjab

LAHORE: In the Senate elections in the Punjab Assembly, PML-N contested, technocrats and women won 2, 2 seats and one specific seat for minorities.

In Punjab, 10 of the 12 seats in the Senate went to the Muslim League-N and 2 to the Sunni Ittehad Council.

Polling for Senate election in Punjab Assembly continued from 9 am to 4 pm. After which, after the counting of votes was completed, Provincial Election Commissioner Ejaz Anwar Chauhan announced the results.

On the two seats of technocrats, Finance Minister Muhammad Aurangzeb won with 128 votes and Mossadegh Malik got 121 votes, Dr. Yasmin Rashid of Sunni Unity Council got 106 votes and one vote was rejected.

Anusha Rehman of Muslim League-N won 125 votes and Bushra Anjum Butt won 123 votes on two reserved seats for women. Sanam Javed of Sunni Ittehad Council got 102 votes, 6 votes were also rejected.

Apart from this, Khalil Tahir Sindhu was declared successful on the minority seat, he got 253 votes.

Asif Ashiq of Sunni Ittehad Council could get only 99 votes and 4 votes were rejected.

Punjab Chief Minister Maryam Nawaz congratulated the newly elected senators and expressed good wishes.