Abb Takk News

US Senate Rejects Trump’s Emergency Declaration, Setting Up Veto Showdown

WASHINGTON: The US Senate passed a resolution Thursday to overturn President Trump’s declaration of a national emergency at the U.S.-Mexico border.

The vote for the resolution to end the border emergency passed in the U.S. House of Representatives last month.

The 12 Senate Republicans who voted in support of the resolution were: Roger Wicker of Mississippi, Marco Rubio of Florida, Rob Portman of Ohio, Susan Collins of Maine, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska, Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania, Roy Blunt of Missouri, Lamar Alexander of Tennessee, Mitt Romney of Utah, Rand Paul of Kentucky, Jerry Moran of Kansas and Mike Lee of Utah.

Trump tweeted the one-word response Thursday after the Senate voted 59-41 in favor of a resolution to block the measure. A total of 12 Republicans voted with Democrats to rebuke the president.