Abb Takk News
Abbtakk specialMOST POPULARNews TickerPakistanSportsTop NewsTRENDING

Pakistan squad for 2024 ICC T20 World Cup announced

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the country’s 15-member squad for the upcoming 2024 ICC T20 World Cup to be held in the United States and West Indies from June 1 to June 29.

According to a press release issued by the PCB, Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim who took back their retirements earlier this year — are part of the squad led by captain Babar Azam.

“This is an extremely talented and balanced side that has a mixture of youth and experience. These players have been playing together for some time and look well-prepared and settled for next month’s event,” the statement said.

The team will play its first T20 World Cup match on June 6 against the U.S. in Texas, before facing India on June 9 at the Nassau County Cricket Stadium in New York in one of the most awaited matches of the tournament. Pakistan will also be playing against Canada in New York and against Ireland in Florida.

The squad will be captained by Babar Azam and does not include any reserves.

The squad is as follows:

Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan.

Pakistan’s schedule of matches:

June 6 — vs USA, Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium, Dallas

June 9 — vs India, Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

June 11 — vs Canada, Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

June 16 — vs Ireland, Central Broward Park & Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida

Pakistan has been seeded A2 in the first round and if they qualify for the second round, then their Super Eight matches will be as follows:

June 19 — vs D1, Antigua

June 21 — vs C2, Barbados

June 23 — vs B1, Barbados